Blog Entry

Manu draws game-winning charge on Carmelo

Posted on: December 17, 2010 1:40 am
Edited on: August 14, 2011 9:38 pm
Denver Nuggets forward Carmelo Anthony was called for a charge into Manu Ginobili of the San Antonio Spurs that erased a potential game-winning basket at the buzzer. Posted by Ben Golliver

It was a wild finish in Denver on Thursday night, as the Nuggets had a potential game-winning Carmelo Anthony basket wiped off by a controversial charge call in the game's final seconds, allowing the San Antonio Spurs to escape with a road win, 113-112.  The Nuggets trailed by one with 4.2 seconds and set up a side inbounds play that resulted with Anthony receiving the inbounds pass near the top of the key. Anthony was single-covered by Spurs forward Richard Jefferson, and drove hard to his left into the paint. In a blink of an eye, Spurs guard Manu Ginobili slid over from the weakside, establishing his feet outside the protected circle in the paint and kept his arms straight up. Anthony barrelled into him as he completed his shooting motion, and the ball went into the basket as the final buzzer went off.  The Nuggets celebrates as if they thought the basket counted and the game would end 114-113 in their favor. Unfortunately for the Nuggets and their Pepsi Center faithful, two referees called, without hesitation, a player control or "charging" foul on Anthony for running over Ginobili. .4 seconds were put back on the clock, but San Antonio inbounded the ball without incident and the game ended. While this is obviously a heart-breaking way to lose, it does appear the officials made the correct call here, as Ginobili established position, was outside of the circle and did not initiate the contact. The only other call, which is more often seen, would have been a no-call, which Nuggets coach George Karl and his team surely would have preferred.   Spurs coach Gregg Popovich and his troops can surely breathe a sigh of relief tonight thanks to Ginobili, who also scored San Antonio's final basket on the previous possession to provide the winning margin. His heroics on both ends tonight come just one night after he was the savior in San Antonio, downing the Milwaukee Bucks with a last-second step-back jumper on Wednesday night.

Since: Dec 2, 2008
Posted on: December 17, 2010 11:52 am

Manu draws game-winning charge on Carmelo

Charging is one of the hardest calls in basketball.  And it is made all the more difficult by worthless pansy floppers.  Did Manu Ginobili flop last night?  Maybe not, but over the years the Nuggets have seen him get a ton of horribly officiated calls in Denver as he throws himself to the floor.  That being said, I challenge anyone on this thread to post a game recap from any NBA game in history that finished with a winning basket being nullified by offensive foul.  It just doesn't happen...ever!  That is I doubt anyone can cite it happening other than last night in Denver.  The NBA is rigged league just like Mark Cuban said and the reason is that some superstars and teams will always get the calls on reputation alone.  The Nuggets lead the league in "Respect for the Game" penalties, and having watched the majority of their games this year it has been absurd.  Melo will get T'd up for shaking his head or smiling down the court while Dirk Nowitzki screams his head off at the refs and get's nothing.  If the Angel of Stern really wants to make the league better, then get rid of these ridiculously punitive technical fouls and crack down on flopping.  The horrible acting that goes on, especially from the European and South American players, is terrible for the game.  Also, crack down on teams touching the ball after a made basket.  The Spurs in particular have chipped the ball away or thrown in to a ref to delay the in bounds for their defense to get set for years.  It's a delay of game.  The Nuggs now how two home losses by two points total but they get no respect from the refs.

Since: Apr 20, 2007
Posted on: December 17, 2010 11:40 am

Manu draws game-winning charge on Carmelo

Look at Al Harrington pull on Antonio McDyess's arm. What the heck is that about? That was the offensive foul they should have called.

Since: Sep 12, 2006
Posted on: December 17, 2010 11:11 am

Manu draws game-winning charge on Carmelo

The more I watch this replay in slow motion, the more I believe that it was the wrong call.

  1. Because of how Ginobili landed (feet first with body trailing behind, which was smart as it was the only way he was getting out of the circle), his momentum was carrying his upper body forward continuously up until Anthony hit him in the chest.  In other words, he hadn't fully established his position yet.
  2. Further, if you watch Ginobili's left foot, he goes up onto his toes before Anthony hits him.  Even though it's a split second before contact, Ginobili doesn't have his feet planted.

If you watch the slow motion replay from the side angle (starts around 1:04 in the video), it's easiest to see the points I've made above.  The only way I was able to pick up on these things was through watching the replay in slow motion a number of times, and I really can't blame the refs on the call. When viewing it in full speed, the call really can go either way.

Since: Mar 25, 2008
Posted on: December 17, 2010 9:36 am

Manu draws game-winning charge on Carmelo

textbook defensive rotation and positioning

Since: May 21, 2007
Posted on: December 17, 2010 8:34 am

Manu draws game-winning charge on Carmelo

I watched the replay several times, and both refs made the same call at the same time. It was the right call, and only highly partisan Nuggets fans see it otherwise. Ginobili was in the lane and planted before Anthony left his feet. You are right. It was the right call. It was close, but it was the right call. Hats off to Ginobili and the Spurs to be in the right position to be able to win that game on the road. A tough game, and the Spurs won. The injury to Billups prevented his availability, or it might have been a different outcome.

Since: Jan 4, 2009
Posted on: December 17, 2010 3:35 am

Manu draws game-winning charge on Carmelo

ginobili's jumper last night was an absolute travel, but the charge tonight was absolutely the right call

The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or